Confederate Treasury Department Flag
Confederate Revenue Flag
Second Official Confederate Flag
Signed into law by President Jefferson Davis April 2, 1861
Pursuant to Act of Congress in Secret Session March 16, 1861
Ordered by C. G. Memminger, Secretary of the Treasury, April 5, 1861

Officers    Founders    Past Commanders
    Agents    Special Agents    Friends
Membership    Original Rule(s)    Other  
New Rules

Officers June 2016 - August 2017

Roger Adamek  TM30 Commander

   Enrico Aidala  TM45  -  Adjutant

  Layton 中尾 Nakao  TM41 -  Judge Advocate

Original Members
Col Crutch Williams CSA, TM01
Tony Johnson, TM02 - Deceased
Walt Rudecki, TM03
Dave Mimms, TM04 - Status Unknown
Randy "The Judge" Shipley, (5th) TM007
~ 1st Expansion ~
Amanda "Scarlet" Sheheen, (6th)TM05a ~ MM01
Robert Ares, (7th) TM05b ~ demitted - Deceased
Les Lewis, (8th) TM06 ~ demitted
John Thompson, (9th)TM08 ~ demitted
Marvin Ashmore, (10th)TM09
~  TM Reorganized ~
Correct Numemrical Order is TM# +1
Pierre Fricke, TM10
Ron Herzfeld, TM11
David Mayfield, TM12
Mike McNeil, TM13
George Tremmel, TM14
Dr. De Witt Bailey PhD, TM15
Roger Moulton, TM16
Ned Lea, TM17 - Deceased
Wes Carter, TM18
C. Vernon Vallance, TM19
Col Hudson McDonald CSA, TM20 - Deceased
Mike McDonald, TM21
Henry Seale, TM22
Brian Strange, TM23
Randall Smith, TM24
Bob Clark, TM25
Charlie Knupp, TM26
Ryan Williamson, TM27
Keith Edwards, TM28
Dave Schnorr, TM29
Roger Adamek, TM30
Larry Jones, TM31
Richard Laster, TM32
Clint Reynolds, TM33
Jim Fitzgerald, TM34
Chris Jones, TM35
Col Ron Perdue CSA, TM36
Mike Stair, TM37
Ed Mason, TM38
Granvel Block TM39
Wendell Wolka TM40
Layton 中尾 Nakao, TM41
Ralph Allen, TM42
John O'Neal, TM43
Mike Welch, TM44
Enrico Aidala, TM45
D. Scott VanHorn, TM46
John Helm, TM47
Mike Tekesky, TM48
Brad Ciociola, TM49
End of First 50 Members
New Era Post January 2014
Serignese, TM51

Return to Main Page

This select group of individuals have been recognized and acknowledged for their special contributions to CSA Trainmen
Early appointments made by
Col Crutch Williams CSA, TM01
New Era ~ Post January 2014
Any Past Commander may propose Membership of Special Agent Trainmen
Current Commander, Immediate Past Commander and Circle of Five vote by simple majority

Richie Self SA01
Malcolm Self SA02
Hugh Shull SA03
Wayne Hilton SA04
~SA05 Transferred to TM~
Gene Hall SA06
~SA07 Transferred to TM~
Fred Reed SA08
Carl Fogarty SA09
Tom Carson SA10
Greg Ton SA11
Austin Sheheen SA12
Doug Davis SA13
James Desabaye SA14
~SA15 Transferred to TM~
John N. Rowe SA16
Hank Simmons SA17
Denny R. Smith  SA18
Ralph Muller  SA19

Past Commanders Trainmen
Col Crutch Williams CSA, TM01  1999-2003
Tony Johnson, TM02  2004-2005 Deceased
Walt Rudecki, TM03  2005-2006
Dave Mimms, TM04  2006-2007  Status Unknown
Randy Shipley, TM007 (#5) 2007-2008
Mike McNeil, TM13  2008-2009
Ron Herzfeld, TM11  2009-2010
Marvin Ashmore, TM09  2010-2011
Randall Smith, TM24  2011-2012
Roger Adamek, TM30  2012-2013
Charlie Knupp, TM26  2013-2014
Amanda Sheheen, TM05a  2014-2016


This is a list of individuals and their organizations that have gone beyond the Call of Duty to assist me personally and/or Trainmen in general with researching our interests.  I, Col Crutch Williams CSA, TM01 have hereby bestowed the honorary title - Friend of Trainmen to the following:

 1)  Betty Lott, Genealogy Research Assistant - Wallace State, Hanceville, Alabama
  2)  Vaughn Stanley, Curator - Washington & Lee University, Lexington, Virginia
  3)  Cathy Wright, Collections Manager - Museum of the Confederacy, Richmond, Virginia
  4)  Dr. Lynda Crist, Jefferson Davis Paper - Rice University, Houston, Texas
  5)  Lee Shepard, VP-Collections - Virginia Historical Society, Richmond, Virginia
  6)  Greg Biggs, Text Editor & CSA Flag Expert - Flags of the Confederacy, Organization
  7)  Tamara Braitwaite, Registrar - Pink Palace Museum, Memphis, Tennessee
  8)  Tom Wancho, Exhibit Planner - The Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum
  9)  Sam Hood, Founder & Webmaster - General John Bell Hood Historical Society
10)  Vicki Betts, Librarian - Robert R Muntz, Library - University of Texas at Tyler      

Membership Requirements & Procedure
Amended 2 October 2010


1)  You must have a genuine interest in Confederate 730 Interest Hundreds (Trains & Hoers) that goes well beyond simply collecting CSA Type Notes, Counterfeits and their Varieties.  This study group now includes Trans-Mississippi issues and documents, Bonds, IDR, Exchange Certificates and anything related to CSA notes and the History of the Confederate Treasury Note Department.  
2)  You must be known by two or more Trainman who can personally vouch for your interest in this specialized field of study to immediately be considered for membership with this web based study group.  You will need to contact your primary and secondary sponsors by email and request that they place your name for consideration before the group as Agent Trainmen. (*)  
3)  You must own at the time of application at least two examples of 730 notes consisting of two Trains of either variety, or one Train and one Hoer and provide images of at least two notes via email attachment.  If you do not have a scanner or digital camera hard copies in color are acceptable sent by mail to one of your sponsors .  This rule has no exception!  (July 2013 see #6)  
4) Upon presentation to the group, you will first be listed as Provisional/Probationary Member Trainmen for an unspecified time.  During this period you will be expected to introduce yourself to the group providing general background information on yourself and finally you must describe your interests related to 730 notes &c .  At a time specified by the Commander Trainmen a final vote will be taken.
5)  (*) Anyone desiring membership who doesn't meet the requirement under #2 may contact me directly, Col Crutch Williams TM01, for optional consideration.  I will ask you a few questions about your interests and ability to participate via email and then put you in touch with the current officers.  One or more of the officers will contact you and discuss your interests and then report their findings to the group.  They will also act on your behalf as stated in item #2.  Crutch Williams  (click for email link)

6)  Special Exception - Special Exception to any rule or procedure may be invoked by a consensus of Committee made up of Circle of Five, Immediate Past Commander and Current Commander.  (Placed in record - July 2013)

Return to Main Page

Circle of Five
Founding Members
Col Crutch Williams CSA, TM01
Tony Johnson, TM02 (deceased)
Walt Rudecki, TM03
Dave Mimms, TM04 (MIA)
Randy Shipley, TM007

1)  No Whining!            
2)  Ask Questions         
3)  Answer Questions
                                                                        4)  Refer to Rule #1

There are many unwritten rules and edicts &c..  You'll be advised should you ever cross that line!
There is No Rule greater than
Col Crutch Williams CSA TM01  

New Written Rules
This section is to be rewritten and will not be included on this public page.  A Committee was formed at Memphis during "Secret Session" and will advise their findings at a later date to the TM Group.  

Return to Main Page